Delight Let the meal be simple. A big plate of mussels, warm bread with garlic, and enough mulled wine to celebrate Being here. I open a hinged mussel pincering a balloon of plump meat from the blue angel wings of a shell. A table’s rising decibels of fun. Such gossip. A story caps a story. Banter. Then, another pun on a pun. Iced yoghurt snipes at my temples. My tongue matches a strawberry’s heart with its rough skin of goose-pimples. Conversations fragment. Tete-a-tete, a confidence passes between two guests. A munch of oatcake thickens my palate. Juicy fumes of a mango on my breath. (A poem with no end but delight.) I knife to the oblong host of its pith. Wine sinks its ease to the nerve-ends. Here are my roots. I feast on faces. Boundless laughter. A radiance of friends. Michael O’Siadhail

Delight

Let the meal be simple. A big plate
of mussels, warm bread with garlic,
and enough mulled wine to celebrate

Being here. I open a hinged mussel
pincering a balloon of plump meat
from the blue angel wings of a shell.

A table’s rising decibels of fun.
Such gossip. A story caps a story.
Banter. Then, another pun on a pun.

Iced yoghurt snipes at my temples.
My tongue matches a strawberry’s heart
with its rough skin of goose-pimples.

Conversations fragment. Tete-a-tete,
a confidence passes between two guests.
A munch of oatcake thickens my palate.

Juicy fumes of a mango on my breath.
(A poem with no end but delight.)
I knife to the oblong host of its pith.

Wine sinks its ease to the nerve-ends.
Here are my roots. I feast on faces.
Boundless laughter. A radiance of friends.

Michael O’Siadhail

A friend introduced me to the lovely poetry of Michael O’Siadhail, who evokes the sensuality of the meal table.

Leave a Reply

